The society awards prizes for paintings judged to be best in show by the judges at our annual selected exhibition. Please see the current exhibition page for information about awards to be allocated at the upcoming exhibition.

The ‘President’s Award’ is given by the President of the Royal Watercolour Society and guarantees the winning painting a place at the RWS Open Exhibition at the Bankside Gallery the following Spring.  Other awards are made possible by the generous support of our sponsors.

2016 Selected Exhibition Awards



2015 Selected Exhibition Awards

2014 Selected Exhibition Awards


Past winners of The RWS President’s Award:

2016 Karen Stamper
2015 John Glover
2014 Lesley Rumble
2013 Moira Fraser Steel
2012 Tony White
2011 Tessa Shedley Jordan
2010 Tessa Shedley Jordan
2009 no prize awarded
2008 Tessa Shedley Jordan
2007 Philip Rundall

Our sponsors:

Daniel Smith Watercolours

Rosemary’s Brushes

St Cuthbert’s Mill

The Rosewood Studio

Tindalls of Newmarket and Cambridge