Society of East Anglian Watercolourists Selected Exhibition 2020

Friday 23rd October - Sunday 6th December 2020

Our judges have selected work in the same way works are selected for a physical exhibition.

As a result, art lovers are getting a curated view of the best water-based media art from the East Anglian region.

Award Winners 2020

Heartfelt thanks to our three judges for their time and expertise and congratulations to all our award winners.

Lillias August RI
John Crossley VPRWS
Julia Sorrell RI
The Sorrell Award winner this year is chosen by Richard Sorrell PPRWS, RBA, NEAC

Also thank you to our sponsors for their support of local artists and generosity in their sponsorship.

Clicking on any of the buttons will take you through to that artist's page in the exhibition and allow you to explore.

We will be in conversation with artists, judges and sponsors live on Facebook, throughout the exhibition. After the broadcasts, the videos will be added to this page for ease of viewing.


The Royal Watercolour Society President's Award

Open category

Artist: Lesley Munro

Title: Beach channels and distant pines

Note: Due to techinical difficulties, Lesley was unable to join the livestream, but she discussed her paintings on another day. View that video here


The Royal Institute of Painters in Water Colour Award

Open category

Artist: Petula Stone

Title: Waterlilies



The Sorrell Award

Open category

Artist: Melanie Collins

Title: On Top of the Market


The Tindalls Rosebowl Trophy

Open category

Artist: Lesley Rumble

Title: Perched on the edge


The SEAW Members Award

Open category, awarded to a SEAW Member

Artist: Alan Noyes

Title: Hat Stack


The Daniel Smith Award

For innovative use of colour

Artist: Jackie Devereux

Title: Bowl of Cherries (My favourite things)


The Brush Award

For a painting that displays brush expertise

Artist: Helen Clarke

Title: September in the Meadow


The St Cuthberts Mill Award

For an outstanding pure watercolour

Artist: Justin Hawkes

Title: Sequence


The AJ Ludlow Award

For best use of warm or cool palette

Artist: Astrig Akseralian

Title: The Sweetest Leaves



The Daniel Smith Award

For imaginative use of texture

Artist: Liz James

Title: After the Storm


Tindalls Art Prize 1

Open category

Artist: Vandy Massey

Title: Coastal Path


Tindalls Art Prize 2

Open category

Artist: Jude Figuiere

Title: September morning


The Cambridge District Art Circle Award

For unique composition

Artist: Wendy Kimberley

Title: Where the Light falls


More videos

Winners announced

Exhibition opening

Lesley Munro on her painting

Stephie and Vandy on collaboration

Prize sponsors

WordPress Theme built by Shufflehound. Copyright © 2019 Society of East Anglian Watercolourists and their members. All Rights reserved. No information or image may be used without the permission of the creator.
has been added to the cart. View Cart